Posted by: Kinross07 | March 15, 2010

More Driving, and a question resulting


A short review before a question to any and all drivers.

So today I was out and about on the roads again. Today was made slightly more interesting by the speedo acting up a bit (now fixed, was a loose wire) which for a while meant I had no idea how fast I was going. But later on, towards the end, an event happened that caused my Mum and I to be in discussion about whether I would have failed my test or not at great length. I’ll pop up a diagram so you can see.

The purple/red arrow was a transit van, the blue arrow is me. I saw him at about 4 o’clock in the lane indicating that he was planning on going past up towards the north. With no other traffic from the right I believe it safe to pull out and turn into the indicated exit. I double check and at about 6 o’clock he is in the same lane (not indicating). I begin to pull out and in, at which point Mum hits the wheel so I emergency brake…Transit van about 3 feet away from me, also stopped. So what I want to know is, if such an event where to occur-bearing in mind he was in the wrong lane and not indicating, and I checked twice, would you think that I failed due to not observing a hazard?

Personally I don’t think I would, considering there was no logical hazard to perceive (only reason Mum saw it was because she was constantly looking that way, at my angle it wasn’t possible to watch him and where I was going). She argues that the fact she had to tell me to brake means that I didn’t pay attention so would fail. I do accept however that due to the insanity of the roads, had a collision occurred I would have been in the wrong, due to him having priority, but still…

Views?

Responses

  1. I’m afraid to say that you probably would’ve failed. Any potential accident, whether averted or not, even if it was someone else’s fault, would be enough to fail you. Having done 3 tests I have come to understand that if the drive does not go absolutely smoothly, you won’t pass. Its not fair I know.


Leave a Reply

Categories