Posted by: Kinross07 | March 27, 2010

Heart Gold


So, I went and bought Pokémon Heart Gold yesterday, and after playing Pokémon Crystal for a week to refamiliarise myself with the areas there are a number of additions of great note and niceness. First is the running shoes being given to you in about 10 minutes, and not only that there is a button on the touch screen so you can be permanently running! No more wearing down of the B button before getting a bicycle, no sir. Next is the graphics-and I know this has been talked about a lot, but the difference really is astonishing. I remember when I first played it way back when and liking it less for the use of colour, but now it feels fresh and welcoming.

There are a few complaints however. Firstly is the box system, which has had an overhaul and now feels clunkier than before. Next, the Pokégear. I forgot how much inane stuff people phone to tell me, and now regret giving them my number-perhaps a lesson for life, I’m not sure. Finally, Bugsy. I have yet to be able to beat this guy despite having a stronger team than I did in Crystal, and I blame most of this on Scyther (which is terrifying to face anyway) which makes me fearful of Whitney and her Miltank…, this all means I’m having to train my team up to level 20 or so in an area where the highest opponent is around level 8 and that takes a very, very long time-trying to get some exp. shares from Platinum-and reminds me of the hours I spent training Pikachu in Pokémon yellow so that it would learn Quick Attack so I actually stood a chance against Brock…

Anyway, I’m loving it so far, and I look forward to seeing what they do for the Crystal remake (if anything).

ETA:

I resent that Leer is no longer a LASER beam from a Pokémon’s eyes. And also find it odd that the Pokéwalker doesn’t come with the clip based backing as the default which has resulted in me spending 40 minutes looking for a screwdriver.

Leave a Reply

Categories