Posted by: Kinross07 | April 10, 2010

Doctor Who-Episode 2


So a wide variety of things happened in Doctor Who this week, one of them being told that we will see the Daleks earlier in a series than ever before. Which might be nice, looks like it’ll only be one episode too, which is weird-but means that it’ll probably be over nicely. In regards to this weeks episode, I find that Amy’s accent is particularly annoying or wrong when she’s shouting or angry. Talking or confused and it’s fine. The episode didn’t scare me as much as I thought it would, but the Smilers did freak me out. But that might be because I don’t like masks… The title sequence still continues to make me feel good and happy with it-despite now seeing it almost 20 times. The humour was also on the up, especially (if not entirely) by the Doctor, and played off with a successful amount of negativity/darkness, again mostly by the Doctor. While we saw it with Tennant it is nice to see that he can actually truly be angry or annoyed with others rather than just himself. I would give some examples of the humour, but it does seem to be mostly contextual, so my talk of “an escaped fish” would mean nothing to you.

There is a moment, about halfway through where I can’t help but feel that Moffat has seen Chuck at some point in the last 2 years. I don’t know why, but that’s the feel I get. It’s also another example of human beings being jerks-trying not to spoil anything but if you didn’t see it, but you’re reading this you’re a bit silly. And I’m intrigued to know how many people had protested up until that point. The crack in the ship also doesn’t bode well, and I suspect is linked to “the silence” in some way. “The silence” being possibly the most noticeable hint to something since the Torchwood days-the bees and the planets being the most subtle, but none of them have brought me as much joy to work out as “Bad Wolf” when by chance I noticed it on a poster in “Fathers Day” and rechecked the others to find the truth. Good times, and hard to believe that was almost 5 years ago.

One final point in this rather haphazard reviewy analysis thing (I don’t know what it is anymore), I am particularly glad that the Doctor has replaced kisses with hugs. Much nicer.

Responses

  1. I’m sorry, but the whole bees thing was definitely not subtle.

    and no wonder it was a hug rather than a kiss, it was a “yay, we made everything right” moment, not an act of passion. That and it’s only the second episode, so a kiss would be far too soon.

    • Well, it was subtle to me, the only non-subtle bee related moment was the huge Vespiform, but that was a wasp. And I’m sure that in previous situations, there would have been a “yay, we made everything right” kiss. I’m going to cling to the idea that he is now a hugger which is better anyway.

  2. Clinging to that idea is probably not the safest. Chris is right, they’ve only been together for a while, Tennant had been with his companions for ages when he would’ve kissed them. Also, given her interest in him (obsessive stalker-style) she’ll be pursuing him before too long.


Leave a Reply

Categories