Posted by: Kinross07 | June 3, 2010

City of the Daleks-A Brief Review.


There’s a city. There are Daleks. The Doctor must fix it. He succeeds, or fails, I’m not saying.

The slightly less brief version follows. And if you want to read my fuller (in that it’s better organised, and I don’t spend so long complaining, and longer) then check out my newer post here.

The first five or 6 times I tried to load the game, it crashed, and left me staring at the BBC logo for 5 minutes at a time-and also made Task Managering incredibly difficult. But eventually it worked. I’m not entirely sure how the game itself works, but it also seems to have a rather long load time (which equates to about as long as it takes to start playing Sims 3).

I’m also not sure if it’s because this computer isn’t quite powerful enough (though according to the Spec Requirements it’s more than able) but there seems to be a large problem with lag in the cutscenes-especially the introductory one. On a related note, the game has it’s own rendered version of the title sequence, which looks that little bit naff, but is really nice because of it. Like Eurovision as a child before you realised that the Baltic states mess everything up.
After the first 2 or 3 minutes, play begins, and you find that there are two control schemes completely independent of one another. In one you use the mouse to look around, and the right button for moving forwards. The other you use the cursor keys to move forwards and backwards and turn side to side. Neither of which help when the icon in the corner says “Talk”-which I think I managed to do with the left click, but this didn’t work for another interaction object. So I tried to move, and then some very nice animations began, but I was stuck moonwalking. Before mankind had even reached the moon. Then there was a large amount of lag and the game crashed.

So far that is the sum experience of 35 minutes of playing, but don’t let it discourage you. Please play it and let me know what you think, and if you experience any of the same issues.

EDITED TO ADD:

Okay, so I think the problem was that I had my graphics set too high (namely “Very High”) so if you have the same lag issues, I recommend you go to the options and change that. I dropped it down to just “high” and it doesn’t look that different but is actually playable.  So far I’ve died 5 times. Once was because I got stuck behind a cab, and the other because a Dalek suddenly turned around and trapped me in a corner. Aside from that and one puzzle which I spent the best part of 20 minutes on, the game plays nicely, the story looks like it might be half decent-which is almost saying a lot for anything Dalek related right now, and once you get used to the controls, it handles nicely too.

Leave a Reply

Categories