Posted by: Kinross07 | June 24, 2010

TEP, RAP, NQT, G&T, GPT, SCITT, APP, AFL, SEN, ITT, SMT, FTS…


12. 45 pm : Registration
1 pm : Welcome and introductions
1. 10 pm : Session 1 : How was it for you ?
1. 40 pm : Session 2 : Capturing the Learning
2. 00 pm : comfort break
2. 15 pm : Session 3 : Routes Into Teaching / The Children and Young People’s Workforce
2. 45 pm : Session 4: Evaluation – paperwork hand in etc.
3. 30 pm : Plenary
3. 45 pm : Depart

That is how my 3 weeks of working in a state school will end. Essentially repeating everything I did in the last 3 weeks, and the 8 weeks I did in lectures. Along the lines of my “If I were to run this…” it would be a simple task of show up, hand in paperwork, go home. There is no way 400 people are going to go on about how it was. In theory we oughtn’t need introductions. For one we’ve met everyone, for two it’s the last day of the scheme, why on earth would we need to meet someone then? Capturing the Learning sounds like it will be the one that will push me over the edge. Not sure why, I suppose it’s to do with the fact it sounds like a fluffy governmental way of saying something. The routes into teaching would be valid if we hadn’t already been told that twice, and it wasn’t possible to find out easily by going to a little website I like to call Google. It’s fairly unknown at the moment, but I think it’ll have it’s time. 45 minutes to hand in paperwork. This might be accurate, but if we broke off into the groups we were in (20 or so per group) and handed them in there, we could be done in 10. The day seems built to waste time. The plenary no doubt will be a rehash of sessions 2 and 3. So whilst I’ll be glad when tomorrow comes because it’ll be the last day I have to go into school-I was going to say work, but I need to get a job too…-I’ll also dread it because I know that those 4 hours will be the longest I’ve experienced since getting my Nexus.

Also, I reckon the government can save at least £12,000,000 a year just by scrapping this scheme. Or at least not paying for it. It would also mean the administrators who take 4 weeks to process a pile of bank details and put £600 into each can be reassigned to somewhere else, or replaced with faster staff who work longer and cheaper because they really need the job. Like me. I would happily, well maybe not happily, work from 0730 to 1830 on minimum wage. Assuming the system isn’t utterly shocking, I figure I could deal with 150 applications a day, so in just under 3 days I could process all of the UoP applications. Of course if there is more than one person doing it it’s faster. But I’m willing to bet the system is absurd too. Basically I’m pretty sure the best thing to do would be start from scratch and do it all with something called common sense. And under that bracket comes “if there was a problem this year, find and implement the solution for next year, rather than leave everything as it was because it kinda worked” bracket of the Student Finance. Which is my last point, if you’re going to have a massive body that deals with something like that, make sure the databases communicate with each other. Or that one block deals with one region, and subsequently can actually help if you phone them. It would go like this:

  1. Begin call
  2. Call answered
  3. Are you supporting or applying?
  4. What region of the UK do you live in when not at Uni (or where is Uni, not sure which would be more accurate)
  5. Connected to regional department.
  6. Regional department has access to regional applications.
  7. Query can be answered.

Maybe my thinking is a little wrong, but I really don’t see why it can’t be like that. If you can answer without referring to “because that’s the way it is” then please do.

Leave a Reply

Categories